The American Church Union, publishers for the Anglican Province of Christ the King, witnesses to sacramental, historic, and Anglo-Catholic faith and practice in the tradition of Shakespeare, John Donne, T.S. Eliot, Dom Gregory Dix, and C.S. Lewis. We offer Church School curricula, books for children and adults, Anglican theological works, aids to worship and church life, reprints of Anglican classics, and recommended reading. We welcome you to browse through our current offerings.

Please contact us for trade and quantity discounts.

The American Church Union is honored to announce our NEW ONLINE RELEASE:

Archbishop Robert Sherwood Morse, 1924-2015, Founder of the Anglican Province of Christ the King, In Memoriam. Thanks be to God for all he has given us.

In Memoriam: Memorial Dedication, October 24, 2015, St. Joseph of Arimathea Chapel, Berkeley, California

In Memoriam: Video Tribute to his life



“If St. Francis is to be understood, he is not to be limited to a statue blessing the garden or the bird bath. His life and message is the Cross. St. Francis literally believed Christ was the Saviour of the world and he wanted everyone to know it. Francis was a remarkable character, utterly fearless as seen when he preached to the Muslim sultan, Al-Kamil, in Egypt… but I never began to comprehend the real St. Francis of Assisi until a few years back when we went to the mountaintop of La Verna in northern Italy where he received the stigmata, the five wounds of Christ.

“Francis never asked God for anything for himself but he did desire that somehow he might experience the agony and the joy, the suffering and the ecstasy of the Passion of Christ. Up  there, high above the beautiful valleys clothed in green below, on the peak of La Verna, Francis would retire into solitude and prayer. I have seen that cave-like area open to the sky where he would spend days alone. It is marked by hard boulders. It is always cold and damp. There in silence he would reflect on the mystery of existence, our union with Christ.

“One brilliant day, out on the hillside, unexpected, it came! He saw, upheld by flaming seraphim, Christ in His Passion. Seraphim are the angels closest to God for they burn with love for Him. When his brothers located him lying unconscious in the sunlight they discovered that Francis was now marked with the five wounds of Christ. From that day until his death in the morning they would find his poor habit soaked in blood. I believe that Francis’ life culminated in the vision of La Verna and his complete identification with Christ is his message to us. The Cross is the center of the Christian’s life. Through it we learn to love and expect nothing in return. Yet to be able to love is to already enter into the Divine Life.”

The Most Rev. Robert Sherwood Morse, from sermons to be published by the ACU

Publishing House of the Anglican Province of Christ the King