Welcome

The American Church Union, publishers for the Anglican Province of Christ the King, witnesses to sacramental, historic, and Anglo-Catholic faith and practice in the tradition of Shakespeare, John Donne, T.S. Eliot, Dom Gregory Dix, and C.S. Lewis. We offer Church School curricula, books for children and adults, Anglican theological works, aids to worship and church life, reprints of Anglican classics, and recommended reading. We welcome you to browse through our current offerings.

Please contact us for trade and quantity discounts.

Please allow up to three weeks for deliveries.

+++


BishopMorse-600dpi

All Is Grace, a Collection of Pastoral Sermonsby the Most Reverend Robert Sherwood Morse: All Is Grace. Press Release: All Is Grace Press Release.

ONLINE VIDEO TRIBUTES TO ARCHBISHOP MORSE:

Archbishop Robert Sherwood Morse, 1924-2015, Founder of the Anglican Province of Christ the King, In Memoriam. Thanks be to God for all he has given us.

In Memoriam: Memorial Dedication, October 24, 2015, St. Joseph of Arimathea Chapel, Berkeley, California

In Memoriam: Video Tribute to his life

+ + +

A History of the Diocese of Christ the King

A History of the Diocese of Christ the King and the Anglican Province of Christ the King

In this compelling, concise, and insightful history, Bishop Hansen tells the story of the Anglican Province of Christ the King, led by the inspirational Archbishop Robert Sherwood Morse. He describes the dramatic events leading to the St. Louis Congress (1977) and the Denver consecrations (1978), as faithful Anglicans sought to ensure historic Christian faith and practice. Bishop Hansen recounts the growth of the Diocese and the national Province to become the leading voice for traditional Anglicans in America today. In conclusion, he considers the future of the APCK.

+ + +

CHILDREN’S HOLY MASS BOOK

We are pleased to announce that the Children’s Holy Mass Book, Coloring for Children and the Young at Heart, is now available for purchase (see Education tab above). For flyer, click here: PRESS RELEASE.Children’s Holy Mass Book  This is an excellent resource for children, to be placed in the narthex or pew, or used as an addition to the ACU Church School Series.

+ + +

QUOTE FOR DECEMBER 2021

 “AND it came to pass in those days, that there went out a decree from Caesar Augustus, that all the world should be taxed. (And this taxing was first made when Cyrenius was governor of Syria.) And all went to be taxed, every one into his own city. And Joseph also went up from Galilee, out of the city of Nazareth, into Judea, unto the city of David, which is called Bethlehem; (because he was of the house and lineage of David to be taxed with Mary his espoused wife, being great with child. And so it was, that, while they were there, the days were accomplished that she should be delivered. And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn. And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid. And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord. And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger. And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.”

 St. Luke 2:1+, Gospel for Christmas Day, 1928 Book of Common Prayer, 98-9

+ + +

QUOTE FOR NOVEMBER 2021

“Nancy and I once visited Auschwitz in Poland, the infamous death camp of the Nazis, a place of horror and sadness… It was more than a temporary death factory. It was a permanent emplacement. Hitler said that during the war they would do in the Jews and the gypsies. After the war they would kill Christians and capitalists, then the mentally defective and physically malformed, and on and on. This nihilistic vision ends in nothingness. My generation battled this evil, until victory. This generation must battle a similar evil.”

 The Most Rev. Robert Sherwood Morse, ALL IS GRACE (ACU 2017), 193, in a sermon preached at St. Joseph’s Chapel, Berkeley, 2001

+ + +

QUOTE FOR OCTOBER 2021

 “Within the Church, we, as members of Christ’s Body, share the revelation of God, the teaching of Holy Scripture and the grace of the sacraments. No prayer or worship is really my own. I only pray and worship because I am a member of the Body of Christ… It is a glorious vocation, given us by the grace of God and a privilege to be, as it were, involved with the angels and the saints, the poor and the humble, the weak and the sinful, within the Body of Christ, all set on the path of perfection by the power of the Holy Ghost.”

 Raymond Raynes, Superior, Community of the Resurrection, Mirfield, England, in Darkness No Darkness (London: Faith Press, 1958; ACU re-issue, 2014, 39)

+ + +

QUOTE FOR SEPTEMBER 2021 

“O GOD, who art the author of peace and lover of concord, in knowledge of whom standeth our eternal life, whose service is perfect freedom; Defend us thy humble servants in all assaults of our enemies; that we, surely trusting in thy defense, may not fear the power of any adversaries, through the might of Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.”

A Collect for Peace. The Order for Daily Morning Prayer, 1928 Anglican Book of Common Prayer, 17.

+ + +

QUOTE FOR AUGUST 2021

“Christians are living in an age that eclipses the persecutions of the Early Church. Christians are caged and silenced in the Soviet Union, murdered by the millions in China and Cambodia, tortured and martyred in Africa. Solzhenitsyn, that twentieth-century prophet, sees the worst for us in the West. The decline and decay of Western man is accelerating at a far more rapid pace than that of the Marxist police states, whose new Gnostic value system of materialism and power is based on the denial of God.”

The Most Reverend Robert Sherwood Morse, “The Long March into the Desert,” Address to the St. Louis Congress, 1977, in ALL IS GRACE (ACU 2017), 245.

+ + +

QUOTE FOR JULY 2021

“ALMIGHTY God, who hast given us this good land for our heritage; We humbly beseech thee that we may always prove ourselves a people mindful of thy favour and glad to do thy will. Bless our land with honourable industry, sound learning, and pure manners. Save us from violence, discord, and confusion; from pride and arrogancy, and from every evil way. Defend our liberties, and fashion into one united people the multitudes brought hither out of many kindreds and tongues. Endue with the spirit of wisdom those to whom in thy Name we entrust the authority of government, that there may be justice and peace at home, and that, through obedience to thy law, we may show forth thy praise among the nations of the earth. In the time of prosperity, fill our hearts with thankfulness, and in the day of trouble, suffer not our trust in thee to fail; all which we ask through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.”

Prayer for our Country. 1928 Anglican Book of Common Prayer, 36.

+ + +

QUOTE FOR JUNE 2021

“We must find our source, our roots of simplicity in our gathering around the altar, the Holy Table of God, Sunday after Sunday to celebrate the mystery of the changing of the bread and wine into the Corpus Christi, and thereby discover the center of our faith, Christ in each other.”  

The Most Rev. Robert Sherwood Morse, ALL IS GRACE (ACU 2017)

Publishing House of the Anglican Province of Christ the King

%d bloggers like this: